Facebook Threatens to Delete Photos if you don’t download Moments App

Posted on Jun 12 2016 - 6:41pm by Juwairia

The Moments App is the top app in all the stores on Internet. This is not because the app is so enchantingly user friendly or because of its breath taking UI. It is because the app is forced on users, by Facebook.

Moments App from Facebook

Moments App from Facebook

Source

Last week, Facebook started pushing its users to install its private Photo Sharing Application, “Moments App”. Facebook has been issuing a warning message stating that if the user does not install Moments App before July 7, the synced photos would be deleted. The warning messages were implemented by Facebook through notifications. More details about this notification can be viewed from the Synced Album page on Facebook.

As a result of this warning, the app has topped the charts in the App Market.

Forcing Moments App is causing Frustration among Users

Forcing Moments App is causing Frustration among Users

Source

On 2012, Facebook first introduced an optional feature in iOS called photo syncing. This feature allows the user to sync and store all the photos available on the smartphone to a private album available in Facebook. These photos can be viewed under Synced Album in the Facebook app and Synced from phone menu on desktop.

Initially, Facebook supported the chatting option on its own core site; but after a period, it forced users to move on to Messenger, which is a Facebook owned messaging app. The same is now happening for photo sharing too.

This action of Facebook may be profitable to the company but it has caused frustration among users. Many have begun to say that they had no idea that Facebook had been storing their photos, let alone now blackmailing to delete them.

Facebook Photo Sharing is now shifted to Moments App

Facebook Photo Sharing is now shifted to Moments App

Source

Alongside the forced installation of Moments App, Facebook is testing an improved version of “Hide from Timeline” option. Currently, this option allows the user to remove any post that he might have posted in the past from his timeline. However, these posts are hidden and not deleted. Such posts can be viewed by those who shared the original post from his or her timeline. We should hope that the new and improved version of “hide from timeline” can tackle this problem.

The transition to Facebook messenger was not so hard because Facebook did not threaten to delete all of the previous chats. But the new move is an unkind tactic and is blatantly pushing people to download the Moments App.

How do you feel about Facebook’s new move? Let us know in the comments below.

About the Author

Hi You! I am Juwairia – a human. Being. Born at a very young age, 99% of the time my brain is thinking blah, huh, sew, meh, ow and psychology; the other 1% I’m usually asleep. A dream once told me to find my dream in a dream – and I currently am exploring writing…

Leave A Response

*